Track & Field

English headlines European U23 selections

Mark English is the star name on the Irish team named for the European U23 Track and Field Championships in Tallinn, Estonia on July 9-12.

The UCD starlet will be looking to add to his European medal haul having senior bronze and silver at the last two championships in Zurich (outdoors) and Prague (indoors). English is currently ranked third on time (1:45.83) behind Poland’s Artur Kuciapski (1:45.21) and Sweden’s Andreas Almgren (1:45.59). Kuciapski pipped English to the silver medal in Zurich last summer while Almgren won world junior bronze in Oregon and recently set his new personal best in Sollentuna. English will be joined in the 800m by Karl Griffin who is ranked 12th on time with his 1:47.39 in Oordegem on the 23rd of May.

Marcus Lawler will double up in the sprints and also be a part of the relay. He’s ranked 25th in the 100m but is ranked much higher in the 200m at 7th with 20.74 seconds.

Cliodhna Manning has timed her run to perfection, much like last season, and is also down for the sprint double along with the relay. Manning clocked 11.71 and 24.00 over the weekend to book her seat on the plane to Tallinn. Manning scrapes into the top 30 in the 100m and is just outside the top 30 in the 200m but there should be more to come.

Sarah Lavin has moved up to 16th in the 100m hurdles with her 13.45 clocking in Mannheim and she will be hoping to go on an upward curve.

The full team selection is below and you can check the top 30 European list for each event here


Event Name Club Coach


100m, 200m Marcus Lawler St Laurence O’Tooles Patrica Lawler
800m Mark English UCD AC Nic Bideau
800m Karl Griffin UCD AC Eamon Harvey
5000m, 10000m Kevin Dooney Raheny Shamrock A.C. Paul Harkins
5000m, 10000m Brandon Hargreaves DSD Chris Jones
Hammer Dempsey McGuigan Finn Valley AC
4 x 100m Relay Marcus Lawler
Jonathan Browning BAAC Melanie Browning
Keith Pike Clonliffe Harriers John Shields
Eanna Madden Carrick on Shannon AC Hayley and Drew Harrison
Kieran Elliott North Sligo ”


100m Phil Healy Bandon AC Shane McCormack
100m, 200m Cliodhna Manning KCH AC Peter Lyons
100mH Sarah Lavin UCD AC Noelle Morrissey
Long Jump Sarah McCarthy Mid-Sutton AC Sandra Daly
4 x 100m Relay Phil Healy
Cliodhna Manning
Sarah McCarthy
Sarah Lavin

Filbert Bayi sets World Record and wins Commonwealth Title
Previous post

Five Fantastic Front Runners:Catch me if You Can

Leo Manzano has been top three at US Nationals a whopping ten times.
Next post

De Grasse can handle it, PB's With Symmonds, Manzano the Magnificent; JTG 5 A DAY

Feidhlim Kelly

Feidhlim Kelly

Con Houlihan once told me that tomorrow is now. In taking on this venture I’ve started to try and put his words into action.

I worked for Con from 2007 till his passing in 2012 taking down his copy and a whole lot more. I have a Con Houlihan section which will go in to more depth on that.

I’m a long-time contributor to the Irish Runner magazine and am also working for the Irish Examiner.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>