Track & Field

Beijing World Championships: Irish Athlete Timetable

Countdown to Beijing:  Irish schedule for IAAF World Championships

The IAAF World Championships (August 22-30) start this coming Saturday in the Bird’s Nest Stadium in Beijing with an Irish squad of 16 athletes set to compete. Below is the Irish schedule for the event. For all you need to know about the championships log on to the IAAF here

Time wise, Ireland is seven hours behind Beijing.

English and Barr kick off Irish at World Championships

Saturday 22nd of August Day 1

Mark English (UCD) and Thomas Barr (Ferrybank) will get the Irish athletes underway on day 1 of the championships. It will be an early start for Irish fans watching from home to see if English advances to the semi-finals.

Men’s 800m heats

Athlete: Mark English (UCD)

Irish Time: 4:50am/local time: 11:50

Men’s 400m hurdles heats

Athlete: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)

Irish time: 11:35am/local time:18:35

Sunday 23rd of August  Day 2

Men’s 20km Race Walk

Athlete: Alex Wright

Irish time: 1:30am/local time: 8:30am

Men’s 400m hurdles semi-final

Athlete: Thomas Barr

Irish time: 11:40am/local time: 18:40

Men’s 800m semi-final

Athlete: Mark English

Irish time: 13:15/local time: 20:15

Monday 24th August Day 3

Women’s pole vault qualification 

Athlete: Tori Pena (Finn Valley)

Irish time: 2:30am/local time: 9:30am

Women’s 3,000m steeplechase heats

Athletes: Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle), Sara Treacy (Dunboyne), Michelle Finn (Leevale)

Irish time: 2:45am/local time: 9:45am

Tuesday 25th August Day 4

Men’s 400m hurdles  final 

Athlete: Thomas Barr

Irish time: 13:25/local time 20:25

Men’s 800m final 

Athlete: Mark English

Irish time: 13:55/local time: 20:55

Wednesday August 26th Day 5

Women’s 800m heats

Athlete: Ciara Everard (UCD)

Irish time: 3:25am/local time: 10:25

Men’s 110m hurdles heats

Athlete: Ben Reynolds

Irish time: 4:20am/local time: 11:20

Women’s pole vault final

Athlete: Tori Pena

Irish time 12:00pm/Local time: 19:00

Women’s 200m heats

Athlete: Kelly Proper

Irish time: 12:15pm/local time: 19:15

Women’s 3,000m steeplechase final 

Athletes:  Kerry O’Flaherty, Michelle Finn, Sara Treacy

Irish time: 14:00/local time: 21:00

Thursday August 27th Day 6

Men’s 110m hurdles semi-finals

Athlete: Ben Reynolds

Irish time: 12:05pm/local time: 19:05

Women’s 200m semi-finals

Athlete: Kelly Proper

Irish time: 12:35pm/local time: 19:35

Women’s 800m semi-finals

Athlete: Ciara Everard

Irish time: 13:05/local time: 20:05

Friday August 28th Day 7

Women’s 200m final

Athlete: Kelly Proper

Irish time: 14:00/local time: 21:00

14:20 men’s 110m hurdles final Ben Reynolds

local time: 21:20

Saturday August 29th Day 8 Heffernan looks to defend his title

Men’s 50km Race Walk

Athletes: Robert Hefferan (Togher), Brendan Boyce (Letterkenny), Alex Wright (Leevale)

Irish time: 00:30/local time: 7:30

Men’s 4x400m relay heats

Ireland: Thomas Barr, Mark English, Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers), Brian Murphy (Crusaders), Timmy Crowe (Clonliffe Harriers), Richard Morrissey (Crusaders)

Irish time: 3:40am/local time: 10:40

Women’s 800m final 

Athlete: Ciara Everard

Irish time: 12:15/local time: 19:15

Sunday August 30th Day 9

Men’s 4x400m final

Irish time: 13:25/local time 20:25

Tori Pena
Previous post

Meet The Team: In Pole Position With Tori Pena

Pin-ups: China's 4x100m silver medallists
Next post

Ten things I've learned on day one in Beijing

Gerard O'Donnell

Gerard O'Donnell

Gerard O'Donnell is an athlete, physical therapist, and MSc student. He is current national 110m hurdles champion and ranks 3rd & 5th on the Irish all-time list for the sprint hurdles events. He is occasionally referred to as GOD, not due to his initials, but because of his heavenly beard, which he has sported since the age of 5.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>